Kamichu sort of review

Kamichu has a big pedigree, it comes from the creator of Read or Die and the animation is done by the same studio as R.O.D The TV, it even has some of the actresses from R.O.D The TV dub in it

so it sounds like it should be right up my alley eh? and I’ve always felt like I SHOULD have seen it years ago, but I never got around to it

but I just couldn’t bring myself to finish it because there’s one major problem with this series, it’s flat out BORING, I mean damn, for a series with an interesting premise (a schoolgirl wakes up one day to find that she’s literally a Shinto God, in your face Richard Dawkins) nothing happens in it, one episode is devoted entirely to her getting a cold and laying in bed wondering if her friends are thinking about her, meanwhile her friends are thinking about her and wondering if she’s ok, riveting stuff eh?

at first glance this seems like it could be a charming series, the best episode I saw involves a Martian landing in front of the Japanese Diet building and the God girl being called in by the Government to communicate with the Martian (who’s also female), that episode was pretty cool, why can’t they all be that interesting?

I confess that I have ADHD and sometimes I can have trouble focusing on things, I get pretty anxious if something doesn’t grab me, but that doesn’t mean something has to be action packed, I like Lucky Star after all, but it does have to be INTERESTING, this is not

so I’m sorry folks, I know I wimped out on this one, but after wasting 3 days just trying to watch 3 volumes I finally said enough is enough, I now know EXACTLY how the Nostalgia Critic felt in his review of the movie Junior, in fact I even heard the “boring” song start playing in my head, here’s a youtube of it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ2j8yxu-rc

I don’t know if the series gets any better, but to be blunt I don’t really care, the characters or the story hasn’t grabbed me, so why should I bother with the rest?

P.S. in the first episode you can see Yomiko in the background reading a book, they really should have spent the money they spent on this on another season of R.O.D The TV methinks

Leave a Reply

