Read or Die is coming to BLU RAY!!!

somehow I just KNEW this was gonna happen

how’s this for synchronicity? not even two months after re watching both the TV series and the OVA on dvd, I now read that it’s COMING OUR ON BLU RAY IN AMERICA!!!! http://www.japanator.com/otakon-10-read-or-die-coming-to-blu-ray-from-aniplex-us-15921.phtml

man talk about bittersweet, if only I had waited (IE procrastinated) a little bit longer I would have read this…

but I’m not complaining though, I mean this is fantastic news for three reasons

1. IT’S R.O.D IN HD!!!! this is a dream come true, I literally never expected to see this come out on blu ray, I know both the OVA and the TV series looked great on just normal DVD, so they’ll look fantastic on blu ray
2. this gives newcomers an easier way to watch the series, the DVDS have been out of print for a while (at least the TV series has) and now it’ll be easily available for anyone to check out, in HD no less
3. this shows that Aniplex still has interest in this franchise, it’s not totally forgotten as I had feared, maybe if it sells well this lead to *gulp* new R.O.D anime! I would squeal with glee if that came true

still, it’s a shame I’ve already re watched it, but it’s not a big deal. I mean I had no way of knowing it was gonna come out on blu ray in America, I DID know that it was out on blu ray in Japan, but I figured that that didn’t mean it would come out here (Steamboy for example has been out in blu ray in Japan since 2006, that has yet to be released here and Steamboy was released by Sony no less) and it’s not coming out till winter anyway, that’s plenty of time to wait before re watching it, I never planned on waiting 5 years again before re watching it, I did in fact plan on watching it again sometime before the end of the year anyway, so it all works out

so for everyone out there and your grandmothers, you MUST buy R.O.D on blu ray this winter!

Leave a Reply

