Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

imagine if you will, an insane mix of a classic late 90’s Cartoon Network show (Dexter’s Laboratory/ Powerpuff Girls/ Cartoon Cartoon) with Dead Lives, a dash of FLCL, a dash of Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi, a dash of Invader Zim and toss in elements of movies like American Pie and Ghostbusters and what do you get?

you get the hilarious and gloriously perverse Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt!

to describe the premise of Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt will make me sound like I just got through smoking some of that reefer, but here goes, Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt follows two girls, Panty who loves sex and spicy food and her sister Stocking who loves sweet food and candy, who live in “Daten City” and under the command of an afro’d priest named “Garterbelt” fight evil ghosts that infest the city by turning their underwear into weapons so they can obtain “Heaven coins” for….some reason

the American cartoon influence is pretty apparent, not only in the art style which perfectly blends east and western styles, but in the episodic format with two stories per episode, that is something that’s common in American toons, but I have never seen an anime that has two individual stories per episode, you really almost feel like you should be watching it on Saturday morning while munching on extremely sugary cereal, save for the constant toilet and sex jokes

now this is the first time in fact that I’ve ever followed an anime while it was being released on the internet (how behind the loop am I?) so I’ve only seen the first 7 episodes, but I’ve already fallen in love with this show, I love it’s unpredictable nature, you really have no idea what you’re gonna see next, whether it’s shit ghosts, puke ghosts, one episode even switches to “little Tokyo” has a bizarre art style caricaturing real life and let’s not forget the awesome villains Scanty and Kneesocks, bottom line this anime makes me laugh a lot, if Matrix was here, he’d laugh too

the cherry on top is the awesome techno soundtrack, I especially love the ending theme

so there you have it, Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt is awesome, I can’t wait for the remaining episodes

4 Responses to “Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt”

  1. Griff-

    I would like to point out that season 2 of Full Metal Panic! featured quite a few episodes that were in fact double mini episodes as you describe.

    Show sounds awesome and right up my alley, cheers!

  2. I actually have still not seen the whole thing, even over a year later

    I think I only watched it up to episode 7 I think?

    I’m waiting to see if it’ll get a legit release on blu ray, so I can’t vouch for the series as a whole, but from what I saw I really liked it

    and renfield, would you maybe be so kind to read all my stuff on here? it’s nice to know that at least one person is reading, I promise to have a new review up soon

  3. Thank you for recommending this… I’m a long-time anime fan, but the last couple years I’ve been neglecting the genre. I guess it just got too frustrating – sifting through different sites’ viewers’ lists and reviews, watching 4 or 5 eps of a given series, realizing it fell woefully short of my expectations and rehashed too many tired anime cliches in an empty, soul-sucking way.

    “Panty & Stocking with Garderbelt” was like a breath of fresh air, and it totally reinvigorated my love of anime. Amazing soundtrack, crack-tastic anti-heroes, and a wickedly joyful sense of humor. “Chuck to the Future” is indescribable – really special stuff.

    Highly suggest that you finish the series, tho worth it to wait for the blu-ray i’m sure. Be warned, the season ends with a brutal cliffhanger *sigh*.

    So, thankyouthankyouthankyou. Thank YOU, Griff!

  4. oh my, you are very, very welcome Manxome

Leave a Reply

