a special announcement: the anime reviews…are returning!

yeah, remember anime? remember the original idea behind this blog was to review almost nothing but anime? I fell off the wagon on that one didn’t I? what can I say, due to some personal things (nothing real serious) I had less free time than I normally do last year and see I’m a gamer first and foremost, video games take up the lion’s share of my free time and video games are a time consuming hobby, last year I hit rock bottom, I realized that I didn’t watch any  anime at all last year and much to my surprise that was actually the first time a whole year went by with me watching no anime at all in forever, even during a few years where I thought (incorrectly) that I didn’t

well it’s time for that to change, I’ve realized that I’m now at a crossroads here, it’s time to either shit or get off the pot (if you’ll pardon the expression) on this whole anime business, either it’s time to get serious with it or just throw in the towel for good, to just say “ok, anime is just not for me anymore”

but I don’t want to do that! which is why I’m pleased to announce that it’s coming back, in either late May or early June expect to see anime reviews popping up on here again for the first time since 2010

see I’ve thought about it and I’ve come up with a  strategy on how to tackle it, if this sounds a little ridiculous keep in mind there is a TON, I mean a TON of anime that I want to watch, the list goes on and on (and on), but basically it’s broken up into 5 categories, 1: anime from the early to mid 2000’s that I’ve wanting to see for years, 2: anime from the last several years that I’ve been wanting to see, 3: anime that I want to re-watch that I haven’t seen in years (for example Cowboy Bebop), 4: more classic anime from the 80’s and 90’s that I want to see just to see how things have evolved and 5: recent or brand new anime that I want to see (which is unfortunately, not all that much)

I think one of the problems is that I would try to watch too much in too little time, I would overload myself, now I’m going to try to spread it out a little more, ideally kind of reach a balance of watching anime in between doing other things instead of this “once in a blue moon marathon” thing I’ve been doing for years

lastly I’m going to change my review style, I’ve gone back and re-read my old reviews and while some of them I quite like, I think the problem is that I’m too vague or brief with reviewing a lot of them, see I’m really sensitive about spoilers and I hate the idea of spoiling something for other people, however if you’re so worried about spoilers it hinders your writing, so I’m going to loosen up with that and basically talk more about what actually happens in each anime, I’ll try not to give anything major away, but if I’m reviewing an anime that you want to remain completely unspoiled on, then beware, just a head’s up, I’ll also be revisiting a few anime I’ve already reviewed and try to write more detailed and hopefully improved reviews of them

so there you have it, the goal that I’ve been working to for years now, the goal of making watching anime a regular thing I do instead of an occasional thing AND the goal of actually getting “caught up” and watching new anime as it comes out seems to be close at hand, so for whoever’s out there reading, thanks for the patience

Leave a Reply

